4th Mar


Media Release 02 – Yorkshire Dairy Farmer is New TFA National Chairman

The Tenant Farmers Association has a new National Chairman – Stephen Wyrill who is a dairy farmer and County Council farm tenant from North Yorkshire.

Stephen takes over from Somerset Crown Estate tenant farmer Jeremy Walker who has come to the end of his three year term in office as National Chairman.

In accepting his new role Stephen said “It is an honour to have the privilege of leading the Tenant Farmers Association for the next three years as National Chairman and I thank the members of the TFA’s Executive Committee for having the confidence in me to take on this important role.  I am a great believer in all that the TFA stands for and I am keen to ensure under my chairmanship that the Association both expands its membership base and influence on behalf of the tenanted sector throughout England and Wales”.

Stephen also paid tribute to Jeremy Walker as outgoing National Chairman, “To say that Jeremy will be a hard act to follow is an understatement.  He has been a conscientious and forthright force for good for the Association and its members.  He has been both thorough strategically and meticulous in delivery, aiming always to ensure that the needs of our members were at the top of the agenda of anyone he spoke to”.

“There is a big programme of work ahead including CAP reform implementation, bovine TB, flood risk management, achieving longer term farm business tenancies, maintaining and developing County Council Smallholding estates, ensuring an adequate farming ladder and a vibrant tenanted sector as well as ensuring that TFA members have access to advice, information and support.  None of this would be possible without the efforts of the TFA’s dedicated staff with whom I am looking forward to working with over the next three years,” said Stephen.

Ref:  MR02

Date: 04 March 2014

Notes for Editors: 

The new officer team for the Tenant Farmers Association will serve a period of three years until March 2017.  The Association’s officers are:

National Chairman  –  Stephen Wyrill, Yorkshire.

National Vice Chairman  –  James Gray, Hampshire.

Treasurer/Junior National Vice Chairman  –  Mark Coulman, Lincolnshire

For further information contact Jenna Kirkpatrick, TFA Communications and Events Co-ordinator on 0118 930 6130 or 07887 777157.

Share This :